Just booked my surgery for August 4th!

Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on the board, but I have been reading for quite some time. Thanks to all your honest answers, and the success of a very close friend, I have decided to have the procedure done with Dr.Ortiz on August 4th.

I am very excited, but I am having some trouble telling friends and family that I am having this done. I feel embarassed and wonder how everyone else broke the news to other people. So far only my mom, friend, and husband know, and I am wondering how I am going to explain to people that I am going to California for a week. I am afraid that other people will think that I am taking the easy way out buy having this surgery. (I am only 25, and have only been 135 lbs overweight for the past 6 years.) Any help you can give me would be appreciated!

I was also wondering if I am being overly optimistic by planning a 4 day vacation in San Diego 2 days following my surgery. I know that most of you have said that you felt fine, but will I be up to sightseeing and walking around? (Sea World, Zoo etc?)

:D

Thanks!

Apryl

Congratulations on setting your date. I was just banded on July 5 and was walking around the markets with my husband the next day. That said, I was tired after about an hour and then took a 2 hour nap at the hotel. I have been trying to walk 2 times a day which really does help move the gas and make you feel great. There were 2 fellow bandsters from July 5 who took a cab to San Diego the next day for touring and they did OK but came back tired. As long as you have a lounge chair poolside to relax I think you will be OK - just don't overdo it!