Portal incision

Hi group,

I'm newly banded (10/11/05) and have been back at work for a couple of days. I didn't weigh as much as many of the bandsters but my medical problems were compounding and I didn't see a way to lose weight (the only thing that was successful in the past were diet pills and I've sworn them off as they make my heart race and frankly just aren't good for you). My weight climb has been steady and I had two reasons I did it now rather than 40 lbs from now. One, I didn't want the additional weight to have to lose and second, I am trying to beat the biological clock and have it done before menopause. Once you reach menopause, I'm told, your skin loses some of its elasticity and I don't want to have that happen so here I am, just at 200 lbs and just banded. I work as a flight attendant and even though they don't impose weight restrictions any longer, the truth is it's not a job that can be done easily if you're larger than average, I had to walk down the aisle slightly sideways and I took up more than my share of the jumpseat, not to mention the size of the workspace, I could barely turn around. Also, with the g-force at work I could barely squat down as my knees were giving out (one's been operated on already) and my joints ached so bad I couldn't sleep at night; so all of this coupled with my desire to be back to a normal weight (135) prompted me to go ahead with the surgery now rather than later.

I highly recommend the team in TJ and its facilities, with my flying priviledges I could have gone anywhere in the world for this procedure and I chose TJ, I did this mainly because of Dr. Ortiz's expertise in the field. The fact that he trains other Drs was of importance to me and that he's endorsed by Inamed Health spoke volumes to me when making my decision. Everyone; Dr. Ortiz,his mom, Dr. Martinez, Dr. Miranda, the nurses Carmelita & Jose, Rene, Junior and Farley, the drivers, were kind and professional and on top of their game.