Considering lapband

This is my first time in a forum room so first I will apologize for the boring format:) I am considering lapband and have been reading about some of your experiences. Some of my questions are where are you going? costs? I live in Spokane, WA. We have a reputable agency that does lapband but is pretty expensive. Any concerns about going out of country? Thanks for taking the time to read and help me with this decision.

Hi Traci,

Welcome to our group! I am having my surgery at the Obesity Control Center in TJ, Mexico on Friday.

I researched a lot of information. Dr. Ortiz and Dr. Martinez have far more experience with lap banding than US doctors and the cost is much less. You can go to the OCC website and learn more about their creditials and experience. I hope that helps you.

Most of us here have been banded at the OCC in Tijuana.

I was concerned about going to Mexico until I joined this forum and all my worries disappeared. The OCC by far surpasses any treatment I have had in the USA. They are amazing! Good luck with your decision. ><'

Most of us here have been banded at the OCC in Tijuana.

I was concerned about going to Mexico until I joined this forum and all my worries disappeared. The OCC by far surpasses any treatment I have had in the USA. They are amazing! Good luck with your decision. ><'

Thank you both for your quick replies. What do you do about the fills? If you have the sx done in TJ, will other agencies, MD's do the fills in States?

I went by myself to the OCC and had surgery on 4/7/2008. I was amazed at the wonderful treatment I got...I shouldn't have been after reading all about it here. I had better care in Mexico at the OCCthan I have recieved in many US hospitals...so I would definitely recommend the OCC to anyone thinking about this. Also, I am going back for at least my first fill. For all others I may go to Fill Centers USA...look at their website and see if they have one near you. Best of Luck!