Denial?

Hello all! I am new to this and trying to find my way around. All I know for sure at this point is I want this procedure. I have been thinking about it for nearly two years now and I cannot possibly wait any longer. I am ready for my life to begin, at 28 years old. I am tired of carrying this "extra person" around with me all the time. I don't want to count the steps I have to walk up to get to the second floor of work. I don't want to have to avoid people until I catch my breath. I am tired. I am tired of hiding, I am tired of lying to myself. I am just plain tired. I have blue cross blue sheild insurance, I have a BMI of 47 ( I weigh 296, arghh!) I just requested a packet of info from my local Lap band surgeon... but now that I am so ready for it, I am afraid I will not be approved. I don't really know why- I just don't want anything standing in my way. Did anyone else feel this way in the begining?

Most of the people on this forum got their surgery at the Obesity Control Center in Tijuana, Mexico. (Click on the white rectangle in the upper left hand corner or your page)(this forum is for anyone/everyone and we like to hear other peoples experiences) The Obesity Control Center (OCC) doesn't take insurance so most of us have paid out of pocket or have taken out a loan to get the surgery. Some people didn't want to wait for the insurance company to approve them, some didn't get approved and some have insurance that doesn't even pay for lap-band. I paid out of pocket because my insurance doesn't cover lap-band.

I felt the same way as you. I was hiding from the world. If anyone took a picture of me (other than a head shot) I would sneak and delete it from their camera because I was so ashamed of how I looked. I am only 29 and felt that I was going to waste the best years of my life if I didn't do something. I am happy with my decision and I loved my experience at OCC. Good luck!!