asthma

Hello all. I am going to have surgery soon, and wondered if non-serious, periodic asthma is a concern. Can anyone help me understand what the pre-op process is, and what if anything the Centre looks for in preparing for surgery? Many thanks

I dont have asthma, and I am not a professional in the medical industry but here is what I experenced and assumed.

When I got to the OCC, they gave me a lung capacity test. They did so they knew that I could handle breathing after surgery. This surgery makes your stomach swell and it puts pressure on lungs. Even passing this test there were many times that I had a hard time breathing. It felt like I had the wind taking out of me a few times. Do you know what I mean? I would go to take a breath and I would have so much pressure and pain that I would have to hold my breath and slowly release, in and out in and out, until the pain passed. I found that the pain would just come and go on its own and it didnt matter if i was sitting or standing walking or not it just came. It would only last a 30 seconds to a minute or so. I only had this pain for about a week or so after the surgery.

I suggest maybe contacting the OCC and finding out what they look for in the lung test. Maybe you can have the test done at your home town before you go for surgery and let the OCC know where you stand. Im sure you will be fine.

If I am worng or misleading in this post, please some one correct me.

Jenelle

Hello all. I am going to have surgery soon, and wondered if non-serious, periodic asthma is a concern. Can anyone help me understand what the pre-op process is, and what if anything the Centre looks for in preparing for surgery? Many thanks

I can totally understand your concern. Here are a couple of things that might make you feel a bit better.

1. people with asthma have surgery ALL of the time. If you are super concerned, you might want to call OCC and just discuss the precautions they take for people like you.