Scuba Diving after Lapband

Hi,

I am very very seriously considering LapBand surgery. I am 5'4" and weigh 310 pounds. I have a very active job as a scuba instructor. I scuba dive 6 days a week and do lots of heavy lifting constantly (45 pound tanks - one in each hand... carrying, lifting and such). Does anyone have any ideas on how long the post op would be before I cound go back to work? I sooo want to do this... but, have to make sure I can still work to pay for it! Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Dottie

Dottie,

I had my surgery nearly a year ago and can tell you that I was back in the water about 8 weeks after surgery. You will want to wait at least that long before any heavy lifting (and even then, be careful).

I have been diving for nearly 20 years and so this was also a concern of mine before I committed to the surgery. Rest assured, once your body heals from the surgery, diving is no problem!!

Good Luck,

Kris

Wow, what an awesome job. I scuba dive also. I also have three kids at home, and asked about how long I would need to lay off of lifting them or their stuff. I was told three weeks. And my daughter was 2. But you are also not supposed to use your stomach muscles (no crunches or sit ups) for 3 months. So you might have to adapt your lifting and make sure you use your legs. I get sloppy on proper lifting techniques, and after surgery was the time to try it.

I had no pain however and felt great. I did lift my daughter some during that three weeks. It just doesn't work for a mom to not lift her toddler.

Becki

Dottie,

I had my surgery nearly a year ago and can tell you that I was back in the water about 8 weeks after surgery. You will want to wait at least that long before any heavy lifting (and even then, be careful).

I have been diving for nearly 20 years and so this was also a concern of mine before I committed to the surgery. Rest assured, once your body heals from the surgery, diving is no problem!!

Good Luck,

Kris