newly banded

:D I was also banded on 11-18 and also had a wonderful experience. I am a medical professional (registered radiation therapist) and had never received any general anesthesia prior. I was a little intimidated by it all and the WORRY was for no reason. It went so smooth. I was quite pleasantly surprised. My insurance excluded bariatric surgery so I began the search for the right doc at the right dollar amount. After my reviews I would have gone to Dr. Ortiz regardless of insurance issues. He is so gifted with people and his hands.

When I woke up I had a little pain on the left side and they gave me a pain shot and it was gone in 20 minutes. I was up early the next morning and ready to head to the hotel Lucerna. I was amazed at how well it went. Of course you are a little sore if you bend over the first few days. Other than that it was a breeze. (They give you some meds for anxiety to calm you down before surgery if you want them.)

I did well on the flights back to Kansas City. My port area is not sore and my incision sites are a little pink and not even tender now. I am one week out now. This all seems like a dream to me as I had expectations of real pain. I am just a little weak/tired from the post op diet.

I am a diabetic and I am sure Dr. Ortiz and the lapband are going to save my life. The cosmetic fix will be great--- Just imagine buying clothes in a regular store. But I really had the band procedure performed to get me off insulin and meds. I want my health back. My insulin requirement is already 1/2 of what it was before banding.

I am walking the walk with my lapband sisters from 11-18-2005. We all email and support each other. Each case is a little unique and we each have different issue and concerns.