Banded 3/17

Hello all!

For those of you who have already been banded - I hope you all are doing well. For those who have not - ease your weary minds. I am a registered nurse and am almost finished with nurse practitioner's school so when I heard about going to Mexico for surgery I said "They tell you not to drink the water in Mexico and you mean to tell me that people actually go down there to have surgery. You must think I am crazy." Well I wanted the surgery so bad I decided to explore the suggestion. Let me tell you.....I did my research. My husband like to have freaked out when I first told him but after showing him all I had found about having lap band down there - I convinced him this was the thing to do.

Although I had done my research, I was, of course, still a little scared and still had some reservations but that's ok. You would not be normal if you weren't a little scared about having surgery - no matter the location. So, I called Lori, scheduled surgery for the date I wanted, and tried to start my pre-op diet. Not enough will power there so it got down to the last week and I was forced to drink those awful protein shakes. I only lost 6 of the 11 pounds that I was supposed to lose - but no problems there. Most of my excess weight is in my hips and thighs....are there any women out there that can relate to that? My waist is small compared to the rest so I guess that is why we did not have to postpone surgery - thank God.