Colonoscopy?

I'm scheduled for my first colonoscopy in late May. My Primary Care Doc knows I'm banded, but we've elected to keep it out of my medical records...this is a small town and even with privacy laws we felt it was a private matter (only husband knows i'm banded) and didn't want it leaking out into public knowledge. I saw the doctor who does the colonoscopy and didn't tell him...should I? Again, I don't want it in my medical records, but in a normal 'scope they don't need to put a tube down your throat for anything.

What do you all think?

Twigs

Twigs, Wow - your first colonoscopy...how exciting :cheerleader: JK. I am a nurse and part of me wants to tell you to inform your MD of all surgeries but I also understand why you don't want to disclose the fact about banding. I too come from a small town. With that in mind, since a colonscopy is a view from the bottom end so to speak, the scope will not come anywhere near the band. Therefore, I do not think you not telling him will put you or your band in danger. But....I am really good friends with the gastroenterologist where I live and I will see him later this week.....how about I just ask him for you so that you can be completely sure. It may also be a good idea to ask your primary care doc if he thinks you should disclose the info. I will let you know when I find out something.

Just my opinion, but I would want any Dr. doing a surgery on me to know that I have a band.

WOW...good luck with your colonoscopy.

I'm with Kimmie....I would want my doctor to know I've been banded, just in case.

But I can understand Twigs not wanting to divulge that information. Of course, my husband knows I'm getting banded, but my family thinks I'm going to San Diego on office business and my office thinks I'm going to a family reunion. I just gotta keep 'em straight!

Let's see what Blazn finds out from her Doctor friend. I would be curious to hear about that!

Barb

Thanks Blazn...I'll look forward to your input.