Started Mushy Foods Today

I graduated to mushy/blended foods today.

I finally went to a restaurant after 6 weeks and ordered spagetti. I ate about 1/2 cup or less and was full. Brought the rest home for the kids.

For dinner I had fish and a scoop of mashed potatoes, again could barely get that down. I feel restriction very quickly.

I know, some of you are ready to smash me over the head with the closest frypan you can grab...sorry about that!

My question is...when did your restriction stop after surgery? I am almost 3 weeks post op. When you started on solid foods after the 21 day liquid diet, did you have restriction? How long did it last?

The nurse at the clinic told me to stop eating as soon as I feel the twinge in my stomach...shortly after I feel a lump in my throat which takes hours to go away. She said it is caused by food slowing making it's way into the larger stomach area.

I guess I need to retrain my brain and learn to get used to the new way of eating, or not waste money eating out when I can hardly make a dent in it.

Thanks Cathy

Yeah Cathy!!!

I am just about at the same place you are except Dr. O let's us eat any foods at 3 weeks. Yesterday night was my first day home to actually cook something. I prepared the beautiful salmon recipe momonamission posted, broccoli and green salad. The salad was caling to me before the salmon was done so I took 2-3 bites. I am not kidding you I could eat 1-2 bites of salmon and was definately full, really shouldn't have had the bites of salmon because I sort of got an uncomfortable full feeling. I learned to eat my protein first like they suggest and then veggies etc. I just felt so free to actually eat some salad that I couldn't resist. I stayed full well into the night from just this. I actually ope this restriction of sorts last as long as it can but it sounds like it does go away before first fill time. I went really easy today so as not to puch it.