What state of mind

Hi all! Newbie here

I just wanted to know what state of mind were you all in BEFORE you decided on the surgery?

I just had a HUGE fight with my husband yesterday regarding my weight. He is TERRIFIED of any diseases that the weight could possibly bring to me. Ovarian and breast cancers are huge in my family not to mention I have had depression for about the last 5 years. He has NEVER had an issue with my weight till the last 6 months.

I have been yo-yo dieting since the age of 16. I am 39 years old now. I have tried everything with huge success on a medically low carb high protein diet, to gain it all back and them some. Two years ago I started seeing a personal trainer with no luck. One year ago I decided to do a triathlon and hooked up with a training group. I’ve ended up doing 4 triathlons within the last year but STILL I am at 220, the same weight I was two years ago.

I just unleashed to my physical therapist about possibly getting the lap band and she said to check out their nutritionist BEFORE I get drastic. How much more crap do I need to go through for people to realize I cannot do this on my own? I’ve seen many weight loss doctors, I’ve done the diet pills, Atkins, Lindora, South Beach, Herbalife and Weight Watcher’s. Heck, I’ve even gone to a hypnotherapist.

I’ve busted my ass off on diets and exercise it’s easy for me to be disciplined. My husband leaves for a week long bike ride in Utah, this is when I want to schedule my surgery. I know if I tell him I am going to do it, he will tell me, “Work out more and watch what you eat. You don’t need to do this.” So, I do need to go behind his back on this.

What’s the nutritionist going to do for me that everyone else hasn’t done? Oh yeah, why I see a physical therapist? Because when I consistently workout, my joints can’t seem to hold up my weight and I injure myself.

I’ve spent the last 23 years of my adult life fighting my weight and I don’t intend to do it the next 23 years.