Want my 13 year old son to have this; how to convince the family

mondk

Hello. I'm an overweight mom and nurse myself and am getting banded in either Dec. or Jan. however, my insurance is paying so I'm not getting my band by Dr. Ortiz, however, my 13 y.o. son isn't even 5 feet tall yet and weighs 200 lbs. currently. I'm so scared for him as he eats constantly and fails at every diet we've tried on him. We sent him to a very expensive weight loss camp last summer, but he only lost 13 lbs. and has doubled it right back on at this time. He will literally eat until he vomits; he says he is hungry all the time. My family does not support our Lap Band decisions...their advice is to get out and exercise. He is mowing several yards this summer with a push mower, but I don't think that is adequate for the amount of weight he needs to lose. I have made him a Dr's appt. here where we live for bloodwork and cardiac studies...I'm hoping that if he does have a high cholesterol level or anything else abnormal, that will help me show my family that this is necessary.

Does anyone else here have any other advice for me that I can plead our case to our family? Thanks in advance!

Blessings, Michelle

I'm the outcome of the over concerned parent.

I was an over weight child.

And it wasn't until I was almost 25 that a severe eating disorder raised it's nasty head, the outcome of a very struggled childhood.

I have absolutely no idea about your situation, but I was taught at a very young age that I was 'bigger' than I was 'supposed' to be;

I too, was sent to a 'camp' for girls 'like me'. (aka the fat ones)

At that age, I didn't understand why my mom would say things like, 'Do you really need that extra bite?!'.

I still hear this over and over in my head, now at the age of 32.

Your son is far too young to understand the real effects of his eating.