pain at port site

Hi, Question for anyone who can answer this. I had my surgery on jan 3rd by Dr Ortiz. Everythinghas gone great until today I started having pain at the port site. It's tender to touch but not red or warm like an infection. Is pain like this normal for awhile.

Julie

Hi, Question for anyone who can answer this. I had my surgery on jan 3rd by Dr Ortiz. Everythinghas gone great until today I started having pain at the port site. It's tender to touch but not red or warm like an infection. Is pain like this normal for awhile.

Julie

Julie, Call Dr. Ortiz on his cell asap. If unable to get him for advice go to emergency room. You need professional help. Be safe. Let us know how things go! Kevin

I'm not a doctor and this board is not the place to get information only a licensed physician can give.

Julie, have it checked if it is really painful. If it's just tender, thats pretty normal. My port area was tender for a couple of months if I bumped or irritated it.

Roger

Thanks Roger,

I think it's normal. I was more active on Monday than I have been since the surgery and I think I just irritated the site. Today is better. I'm incredibly pleased that this is the only way I even know I had surgery, amazing. thanks much, Julie

Thanks Roger,

I think it's normal. I was more active on Monday than I have been since the surgery and I think I just irritated the site. Today is better. I'm incredibly pleased that this is the only way I even know I had surgery, amazing. thanks much, Julie

I had no port site pain until about day #5 post-op also. The most likely reasons are muscle strain (they stitch the port into the abdominal muscle) or nerves firing as the wound heals. I consider it a normal post op process, but if you experience redness or constant pain, you should call Dr. Ortiz or Martinez.

My pain occurred about twice daily, for about one week. It felt like being poked with needles, but lasted only 5 seconds.

Julie