Sscuba Diving after Surgery

Hi Everybody,

I know I have asked this question months ago....but, here it is again. Have any of your had any problems with scuba diving after the lapband surgery? How long did you wait before going diving? I work as a scuba instructor in the Cayman Islands and have taken 8 weeks off to have the surgery with Dr. Ortiz. My surgery was two weeks ago and I am feeling fine. I return to work on Oct 20. I have just received an email from my boss in the Caymans about an article that says Adjustable banded gastrony patients must wait a year or longer before diving again. Now he is asking me for a note saying that I am okay to return to work. Not like I don't have a trillon other things on my mind right now... to have to worry about my job.

Any divers out there? Help!

Dottie

Hi Everybody,

I know I have asked this question months ago....but, here it is again. Have any of your had any problems with scuba diving after the lapband surgery? How long did you wait before going diving? I work as a scuba instructor in the Cayman Islands and have taken 8 weeks off to have the surgery with Dr. Ortiz. My surgery was two weeks ago and I am feeling fine. I return to work on Oct 20. I have just received an email from my boss in the Caymans about an article that says Adjustable banded gastrony patients must wait a year or longer before diving again. Now he is asking me for a note saying that I am okay to return to work. Not like I don't have a trillon other things on my mind right now... to have to worry about my job.

Dottie