Nervous Nelly

Hello everyone!

I'm extremely new to this and I'm having my surgery this Friday 2/1/08. I have to say I'm very nervous and I don't know what to expect when I arrive.

My husband tells me I'm fine the way I am but I'm 5'5" and weigh 256, sure I'm fine....He has just begun to put doubt in my head like what if it doesn't work for you like everyone else? What if something happens and Kaiser refuses to take care of you? So as you can see I am nervous because I maybe have researched and over researched the whole lap band and now since my surgery date is this Friday I'm freaking out!

Any comments or advise?

Any and all is appreciated

Hello everyone!

I'm extremely new to this and I'm having my surgery this Friday 2/1/08. I have to say I'm very nervous and I don't know what to expect when I arrive.

My husband tells me I'm fine the way I am but I'm 5'5" and weigh 256, sure I'm fine....He has just begun to put doubt in my head like what if it doesn't work for you like everyone else? What if something happens and Kaiser refuses to take care of you? So as you can see I am nervous because I maybe have researched and over researched the whole lap band and now since my surgery date is this Friday I'm freaking out!

Any comments or advise?

When you arrive they will pick you up at the airport and take you to the hotel. You may have to get out and push the "pass" button (I think that's what on it) at the border but that's kinda fun ;) The drivers and the hotel workers are amazingly nice. The next morning you will be picked up and go to the clinic. If you're lucky, you'll ride with Mama Ortiz - she is a total sweetheart! They'll do all the tests at the clinic, hook you up to your IV and depending on where you are in the group, you'll probably be banded by noon :)

The then incredibly nice nurses care to your every need. MAKE SURE AND WALK AS MUCH AS YOU CAN!! You can watch satellite TV, read, do some more walking or sleep.