I've got some questions

I am doing some research for LAP-BAND and I came across Dr Ortiz. I am a health care professional and I have a stigma in my mind that this is unsafe, please HELP me to change that. I would love to hear from anyone with their experience with the facilities and your experience as a whole...good or bad.

Thanks Beth

We have a whole section on testimonials. :)

http://www.lapbandforum.com/index.php?showforum=13

Do your research. This is a life changing investment that you have to be commited to in order to make it work. Just make sure you make an informed decision. Check out Google and other lap band forums. Everyone spends a period of time researching to make sure it's the right thing for them. :)

Beth, welcome to the forum! I am just wondering what exactly do you mean when you say that you have 'a stigma in my mind that this is unsafe'? Do you mean that lap band in general is unsafe, or going to Tijuana Mexico is unsafe...??

I had some reservations as well when I initially came across Dr. Ortiz's website and saw that the surgery was performed in Mexico. I sent an email requesting information, and I emailed back and forth with one of the patient care coordinators for about 5 weeks before I scheduled my surgery. I also came on here and read testimonials, I researched all my options online, I also looked at other forums. You must do your research so that you are aware of all the pros/cons, risks/benefits etc. You have to know what you are getting yourself into, as any surgery will have possible complications to it and any surgery could be potentially unsafe.