Are your eyes still bigger than your stomach?

I have found that I have not learned yet to order something small when I go out. In the back of my mind, I know I can't eat a meal like I used to but I guess old habits die hard! Yesterday we went to eat Mexican for lunch. (Our Mexican lap bands make us crave it, right? LOL) I had about 5-6 chips and salsa. I used to could eat two baskets full. My chicken taco salad came and I ate two bites of it. Two bites! I was so full that I had to go to the restroom and spit the 2nd bite back up. It was so good too..I really wanted to eat it.

My point is, I am still learning. I should have skipped the chips and salsa so I could have enjoyed my taco salad more.

Oh yes yes yes....I went out for dinner with a friend, even before my fill and ordered a steak, baked potato and veggies and I ate about 5-6 bites of steak, a few veggies, 2 bites of potato and left the rest. Oh, did I want more!!! But I was so full, I just couldn't. Dinner out is becoming a waste of food, so either it's appetizers now (which don't give you many healthy choices) or making dinner at home.

It's hard leaving food on your plate...I am not used to that!! I am happy I can, but need to adjust big time!!

Has anyone used the little card they gave us telling us it's ok to order of the kids menu because we had WLS ?? I always forget about it but then when I do remember I feel kinda embarrassed and never do it. also have you SEEN what's on kids menu's??!! Corn dog & fries / grilled cheese & fries / pizza & fries / Chix fingers & fries / hot dog & fries... stuff I couldn't eat any way!

i have always had the same problem. i usually take a doggy bag home and have left overs for a couple days. my bf was getting so mad at me when we would go out to dinner bc he felt i wasted so much food and he felt obligated to eat it... after he gained 15 lbs we decided we would share a main entree and i might get a soup on the side.

kim