Just scheduled

I am new to all of this. I am scheduled for December 15th, 2008. I have really enjoyed reading all of your posts, tips and encouragements.

I do not personally know of anyone that has had the Lap Band Surgery. The few people that I have told are freaked out when I say "Tijuana". Luckily, I have total support from my husband and a very close friend. I will be looking to you guys for my support group. Right now I am at 269lbs. and have not started my pre-op diet.

Do any of you personally know of anyone that has maintained their goal weight? Probably like all of you, I have tried about every diet out there. Thus, my sign in "Determination". I am looking forward to following your success stories.

I live in a very rural, high altitude (cold), beautiful place. Enterprise, Oregon

Congrats, I've had my band for over 2 years and I'm learning the maintenance program. I’ve lost over 130 pounds and trying to get to that perfect weight. So far I’ve been too skinny, and now I just looked at some pictures of me that I hate and I feel I need to lose 10 to 15 more pounds. But truthfully based on how I eat now, I can even fathom how I’d ever gain my weight back like I use to.

I have the VG band (the big one) and had it filled to 6.5 cc’s – since I’m on maintenance I had it unfilled to under 4.5’s, its working fine. If I want to loose more weight I just add in exercise and cut back – (which I’m doing right now).

Its lifelong - it’s not easy - it’s a tool that you have to work to succeed and you need to add in exercise if you want to move at a consistent pace.

Good luck and again, congrats on your decision to get the band. (I'm from the very beautiful Northwest town of Snoqualmie WA)

Best,

Lisa

Hi Lisa, Thank you for responding. You are doing great! I plan to follow in your footsteps. There are several questions that I have.