Exercise and band restriction

So the truth comes out, I haven't been exercising since being banded. Pre-band I used to run a couple of times a week but after the surgery I just fell off the exercise wagon. I always tell myself that chasing after my 2 little boys is enough but I know that to lose this last 10 pounds I need to get moving. So in the January sales we bought a treadmill and I have started running again. I like to run right before lunch as this inspires me to eat a healthy lunch and not waste the effort but I am noticing that I can hardly eat a bite, my band has closed right up. I pb'd salad the other day and I took very small bites and chewed the heck out of it. Very unusual. I'm wondering if anyone else experiences this, should I have a protein shake for my meal after a workout?

Hi Musiclover ~ wow, you go girl, you will reach your goal in no time. As far as you picking up exercising, I am not experienced enough to tell you nor am I a medical advisor.

IMHO, a couple of items came across my mind:

~ How soon do you eat after you exercise? Sometimes I cannot eat after exercising, especially hard core exercises, as my muscles expand and I need to relax about 30 minutes before I eat. Right after exercising, I drink a protein shake. Since I've been doing this, I noticed I am not drained out and I have a more balance meal. During and after exercising I am also drinking water, gatorade, or juice.

~ If you pb'd on food, the same goes for liquids? If you can't get liquid down smoothly, then call the doctor immediately. If you can, try a protein shake. Also, sometimes I've noticed I, personally, can't have a salad after I eat ~ just my fickle band's reaction to me. So, now I turn to more solid foods or have a chili or thickened soup. It doesn't happen all the time, as my restriction is good right now, so I need to adjust my meal intake accordingly.

All the best to you...