My Doctor Scared Me to Death!

First I would like to say congratulations to everyone who is making a wonderful commitment to a better life! I admire your strength and ambition. I would also appreciate you sharing your knowledge and expertise with me as I struggle with the decision to do lap-band surgery.

I met with a doctor yesterday (not from the OCC) to consult on lap-band surgery and he scared me to death about the procedure. First some statistics, I am currently 5'6" and 257 lbs. I have always been heavy even as a child, but active and healthy enough, but would run about 200 lbs and was comfortable enough. In fact, up until about two years ago I was a volunteer firefighter. Now (and some of this stuff before now), I have had a child (this is what slowed me down & I can't get back on track), have a messed up back, bad knees, weak ankles, GERD, PCOS, hiatal hernia, high cholesterol, sleep apnea, the beginning stages of high blood pressure, and type 2 diabetes. I love food, I'm not a snacker but a big portion eater, and sometimes eat for emotional distress or because it just looks too good to pass up. I am not into sweets, sodas, candies, chips, typical junk food, but I like real food...I just eat too much.

The doctor explained that I would have to loose 10 or 15 lbs pre-op and be on a liquid diet for about six weeks before surgery. That didn't scare me, I could do that. He told me about the adjustments of the band and I thought I could do that. What scared me to death was that he said I would have to cut up my food to 1/8" for the rest of my life. I thought I heard him incorrectly and asked if things would need to be cut down to the size of a pea...and he said no....I would have to cut my peas up.