Scheduled For April 22nd, 2008 in TJ

I am getting ready to travel to San Diego on Monday morning. I am not sure if I am supposed to fast on Monday or Tuesday (the surgery date). I am so anxious! I have been researching weight loss surgery for the last 10 years. I keep hearing about the gasx strips. What is this for? I am so hungry on the Pre-Op Diet and the thought of going 8 more weeks like this sounds impossible!! But, I will take it one day at a time! PRAY FOR ME! Any suggestions? I probably read them all but, I still feel like there is someone out there who can tell me the secret to getting through this! Ok, now that I think about it, I think it was when I started reading all of the forums about eating that really made me hungry. I was fine all day today. And I should be in bed right now, then I wouldn't even think about food. But, I am so interested in this and want to know everything about it. Well, I guess I should...this is a life changing event. Is it true that we can have 1 last meal before the surgery? I was originally scheduled to have the surgery in the US on 4/11 but because of insurance difficulties was not able to. So, I feel like I been on this liquid diet all month already! I would be happy with 1 last meal before having to wait 8 weeks post op! WOW! Too long!

Hi Kia! First of all, you will be alright. You can fast 12 hours before pre-ops and have a "last meal" the day before surgery. So if you have pre-ops Monday and surgery Tuesday you would fast Sunday night, go to pre-ops and have your last meal that day before midnight. On surgery day, you'll be fasting until your surgery. However, since you are fasting and can get into surgery that same day, I would recommend it because it's that much faster to healing and getting back to solids. GasX is for the gassy, bloated fealling you may experience after surgery. Not all people get the feeling, but most normally do.