Just getting Started anyone in the Vancouver Washington area?

Im just getting started here. I DO KNOW that I want to do this. I just don't want to do it by myself. I think that I would be go to Mexico. I can't think of going and not knowing a soul. I hear that you meet people and you just become like a family but it would be nice to know someone befor you go. I am in the Vancouver Washington area and have not come across anyone in my area that is in the same place in there life that I am. That is sick of being so unhappy with myself and really ready to make a change!!!

Thanks for any thoughts..

Janell

I live in Hoquiam Washington. I will be having the surgery on 5/28/08. I am only a couple of hours from you.

Caroline,

Are you going by yourself?

Janell

I live in Lacey. I'm married, but chose to go it solo - Hubby dropped me off at Sea-Tac and away I went. Out of 8 of us...4 were doing it by ourselves. And I woudl do it again in a heartbeat at OCC!! Is that where you're considering going? Feel free to email me or ask me anything...my surgery was 4/4/08. I wrote about my experience in patient testimonials (it's kinda long). You'll be fine by yourself if you do it at OCC - I can't speak for anywhere else though. And yes, for me, getting over going to TJ was the hardest part. But as I've said before, I would have flown to whatever remote part of the world Dr. Ortiz was working!

And if you want family - come here to the forum often. We ALL know what you're going thru, and someone else, is going thru it just like you. Once you get your surgery date, announce it on here, and maybe you'll meet someone who has the same day, or day after. You can chit chat weeks before the surgery, go thru all your feelings together, and then you'll have someone there during your experience. Out of 8 of us - only 2 of us went online - the others did not use the forum at all. But we all made friends while we were there!