just a question..

hi everyone!

i have been reading alot of articles. and i am finding that it is pretty common to lose your hair - or the thickness of your hair. especially with gastric. is it the same for lap band?

has anyone noticed hair loss?

and is there anything to take as a pre-cautionary for hair loss?

Hi

I was banded in Feb of this year and I was just talking to my hairdresser last night as I seem to be losing more hair than ususal. Some say its caused by lack of protein,but i swear I eat more protein than before.

Another theory is that it is the stress of surgery.

Hopefully I don't end up thin but bald.

Nicolek

It is a result of lack of calories and nutrition. You must take your vitimans and get in all your protein. MUST MUST MUST!!! Also it is very good to take biotin. I am a hair stylist so I know these things really help. Make sure your protien comes from different sources. You can buy this little shot glass thing from a vitamin store that has 42 grams of protien in them. Do not drink it all at one time. Your body can only break down so much protien in a sitting. That shot glass should last you about two days and you should still eat most of your protien to make sure you get enough kinds in. Good luck. Dawn

I was also told by my hairdresser to take Biotin [i got it from our local Walmart, not expensive.] It's a vitamin supplement and I started taking it a month before my surgery and I haven't lost any hair. This was a big concern of mine because I have fine hair to begin with. I'm still taking the Biotin, as a matter of fact, I picked up a new bottle yesterday. It also helps your nails and skin. I have crappy nails and it seems to have strenghened them also. I highly recommend taking it, just let them know at the OCC to add it to your "daily meds list" when you go to have your surgery. Best wishes, Darlene

Momonamission-

What is Biotin? Is it a shampoo sort of product or oral supplement?

Thanks!

Amber