Lap Band in TJ

KateOC

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this! I found the website for OCC and have been really wanting to get this done. My daughter had a lap band done 2 years ago (she was 15 at the time) but I can't afford the prices in CA. I am working on getting the funds together to get this done by Dr. Ortiz. So, I am very familiar with the lap band itself....but what I need reassurance with is having it done in TJ and the travel to TJ. The minute I say I am considering going to TJ to have it done, is when my friends raise a brow and think I am out of my mind. So I need people who have had this done by Dr. Ortiz to tell me he's fantasic and that travelling to TJ was safe.

Also...If I have a surgery on a Friday, will I be home by sunday night?

thanks in advance for the feedback.

Kate

Hey there:

I was there April 6-9th and my surgery went great. TJ was totally safe for me. We even went shopping in the downtown 2x & had no problems. Honestly, the first 2 days after surgery was pretty easy for me, day 3 was a bit rough~ but started to get better on day 4 and by day 6 I was back to work~ I was tired but by day 7 after surgery I was great! I felt myself again.

The liquid diet is tough the 1st week but by the 2nd week it's not too bad. Once you see the numbers going down on the scale it is sooooo worth it!

GOOD LUCK!!!

You sound just like I did when I decided to get the lap-band in TJ. I was scared and nervous. I made the appointment but I still hesitated and I waited to the last minute to actually decided to do it. Well let me tell you....IT WAS THE BEST DECISION I HAVE EVER MADE!!!!! The facility is better then any facility I ever went here in CA and the doctors are TERRIFIC!!!! It was safe and they made me feel safe. Good luck to you in your decision.