thinking about lapband surgery

Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, this is my first entry. I am considering having the lapband surgery and I cannot say I am without fear and reservation. I have battled my weight for far too long and I'm not getting any younger. Part of my fear is failure. What if it doesn't work for me, what if I have terrible complications, how will I cope with having a Dr in another country when I need to see him???? So many questions.

The OCC comes highly recommended by a friend who has the lapband herself. She has nothing but praise for the OCC.

I guess my first step is to contact the OCC....wish me luck

Feather

Hello,

I am a newbie to this forum, this is my first entry. I am considering having the lapband surgery and I cannot say I am without fear and reservation. I have battled my weight for far too long and I'm not getting any younger. Part of my fear is failure. What if it doesn't work for me, what if I have terrible complications, how will I cope with having a Dr in another country when I need to see him???? So many questions.

The OCC comes highly recommended by a friend who has the lapband herself. She has nothing but praise for the OCC.

I guess my first step is to contact the OCC....wish me luck

Feather

I agree with the OCC issue-they're pretty awesome. Have you looked into the sleeve or plication? I'm having my band removed at the end of the month, it was a great tool for the first year, until it got too tight. Hasn't been the same since, and now have a slip. And regained 30 lbs. Don't get me wrong, some people don't have complications and are successful, but I really wish the OCC had offered the plication procedure in '08. I probably would have gone with it. I have spent a couple grand in fills and un-fills over the last 2.7 years. I do know that my band isn't used down there anymore--it has a high rate for slips. But, you may want to check out some other options. Good Luck!

Hi Feather,