What's up with the burping and farting?

Faith2009

Hi...I'm a newbie and am planning my new "birthdate" in late Feb, but am starting to freak out a little bit.

Can someone explain to me what the deal is with all the gas talk?? I am reading a lot of info where people are saying they simply cannot eat these things anymore because they get lots of "gas" or the food gets painfully stuck and/or they throw it up all the time. Yikes!

Are we talking both Burping and Farting??? And I cannot figure out physiologically why would the band make u fart???

Now I am a little scared about all of this. I'm a hand therapist (I work with all kinds of hand injuries) and work every single day up close and personal touching patients. Am I going to turn into the "stinky" therapist?

Also, I shudder to think of how attractive I will be burping out the alphabet when I am on a dinner date with someone.

Hmmm.....any HONEST insight? Thanks :)

most of the gas talk you hear people talking about it right after the surgery for a few weeks - you are pumped full of gas during the surgery to inflate your stomach so they can get in there to do the surgery and afterwards, they cant get it all out, so you have gas pain until you work it out of your system.

it has subsided with me (i am 8 days post op) alot now.... and if I feel it, i just start walking.

I haven't that much more farting, but the burping is constant. I probably burp 200 times a day, no kidding. I don't know if it gets better.

Of course some kinds of food cause more gas than others, so you will need to avoid overeating those kinds. For example, eating a ton of broccoli gives me so much gas in my system it was painful. I can't imagine what eating beans would do!

:) I am only 10 days out from surgery, but have not had the burping or farting, except from the gas right after surgery..

Is the gas and burping something that comes after first fill ????? :huh: